Increase your Website Sales in 2 weeks, by using Pay Per Click
Pay Per Click (meaning Google Adwords, Facebook ads, and Yahoo/Bing/Adcenter PPC ads) can get your website new leads and sales
in less then 2 weeks.
These PPC advertising platforms are made especially for new websites, as new websites usually take 4-6 months (or more) to rank, and
thus get very little traffic in their first year.
PPC ads can get your website tons of relevant traffic, very fast.
Considering traffic generation, Pay Per Click mostly is seen as a temporary solution to get your website out there,
in the top in the search engines, until after a few months the SEO (Search Engine Optimization) work done will
rank your website in the top. Then PPC can be phased out.
Google Adwords PPC: the fastest sales generating mechanism ever....
Never before in the history of advertising has it been possible to spend only 5 dollars, write a couple of online ads,
and get instant access to over 100 million people in less than 10 minutes…..
In 2000, Google introduced “Google Adwords”; a PPC (pay per click) product specifically tailored for new websites,
as new websites generally take 12 months of longer to rank well in the search engines.
Adwords was aimed at getting these new websites traffic and sales within a few days after starting a campaign.
But the learning curve for adwords is over 1 year; meaning many companies have to use licensed Adwords agencies to get the job done.
Currently Adwords generates well over 90% of Google’s revenue over 2 billion USD per month, with hundreds of thousand of advertisers generating billions of USD in business revenue online, worldwide, in over 50 languages in over 200 countries to a 2 billion+ online audience; a true marketing revolution.
The digital marketing power of a PPC campaign is 6-fold:
In general: A solid PPC campaign can be set up by us within 16 hours
and can be run efficiently at a daily advertising budget of as low as $5/day.
- that your ad is shown thousands of times a day for free, until somebody clicks; then
you pay a small fee of on the average $0.15 (USD) per click;
- that the clicking customer is the targeted one; browsers-only (tire-kickers)
can be excluded easely by using negative keywords and a good ad/website-match.
- that you will never overspend planned budget;
you can set your daily click-budget as low as $1 /day.
- that it is lightning fast to set up; after first (SEO-based) analysis, your ad can be shown
within hours, and you can receive the first customers on your website from that
- that the ad campaign is extremely targeted; you can target your
ad to specific countries (even cities, in the USA) and search languages.
- that the ad-campaign can be run for hundreds of keywords at a time,
allowing many relevant user-searches & clicks; wheras conventional "free" search
allows for only up to 15 (mainly title-related) keywords at a time.
Influence of Google Instant on PPC
The launch of Google Instant in September 2010, where search engine results are changed dynamically while typing the query, influence
the sponsored ads depicted also; the ads change dynamically in the same way.
Main effect is that shorter keyphrases will be used more frequently, at the expense of "long tail" keyphrases,
as users will stop typing as soon as they see a close-enough version of their query appear.
Side effect is the "query steering" done by google; people will tend to use the phrases ("Google prefills" or "query suggestions")
offered by Google in stead of finishing their own intended query string.
As the prefills/suggestions are shown in order of decreasing search frequency, this implicates that more searched-after
phrases will be even more searched after, downsizing the number of new (rare, longtail) queries.
And as misspellings are being corrected by Google "on the fly"; they will be queried for less also.
PPC: the best ad placings
Did you know that of all searches done on Google, only 30% of the visitors goes to the second search screen, and only 3% to the third search screen?
70% of your potential customers will not see you if you rank on page #2!
If you have a website, you clearly need to be on page#1 in Google. But where on page#1?
Click both pictures to enlarge
Above you see two screenshots. The left screenshot shown is the SERP (Search Engine Result Page) shown for a specific query on Google.
The arrows indicate the areas where the Search Engine Optimization (SEO, also called "organic") results and Pay Per Click ads (PPC, also called "sponsored links") appear.
The right screenshot displayed is a so-called "heatmap" of the Google search screen,
showing the areas in red where people focus on when they use Google. Yellow and blue colours indicate
areas of less focus.
From the second image it becomes clear that a website which wants to be seen, needs to be in the top left hot spot;
this hot spot is occupied by SEO results as well as PPC ads.
For most of our customers we recommend to use a combination of PPC+SEO, as the plans are complementary; they re-inforce eachother.
A PPC plan assures fast ranking (in less then 2 weeks) and ROI (less then 3 months), while an SEO plan
generally takes 4-6 months or more to take effect.
More over, the PPC Plan provides excellent feedback on popular (and converting) keywords and keyphrases used, which input is very useful for the SEO plan.
So we advice to use a PPC plan first (while developing and implementing the SEO plan), and as soon as the SEO plan has effect, out-phase the PPC Plan.
PPC; the approach
There are 4 ways to sell a product to a consumergroup:
The first and last form of advertising are relatively easy:
the first using a generic word for worldwide advertising, the latter a specific word for a specific market.
- Mass product advertising worldwide (e.g. coffee);
- Mass product advertising in a niche consumer market (e.g. men's shoes in NY);
- Niche product advertising worldwide (e.g. caviar);
- Niche product advertising in a niche consumer market (e.g. surfboards in LA).
The middle ones now are the challenge in many adword campaigns.
Many customers ask us: how many adwords to use?
There is no golden rule, but on the average ANY campaign can run efficiently with 20-100 words.
Having a so-called "universe of 500-1000 keywords" is used frequently by us in the initial stages,
but after a few weeks the core-words will settle
down to just 50 or so. Focus always should be on the ones generating conversions (leads, sales), and that group usually will be not
larger then 50.
PPC; the 4 Key Success Factors (KSF's)
Every keyword targeted PPC campaign has 4 KSF’s (=key success factors, in this case filters):
Item '4' above can only be optimized when statistics & conversion-data about clicks are known;
e.g. where do the visitors come from,
which words generate clicks on the landing page, which words generate clicks on the contact us or sales page and so on.
Once these words are known, the website itself can be optimized, using this feedback; e.g. maybe the sales-pitch is
insufficient; maybe some core-keywords are missing on the sales-page etc.
- 1: the keyword used; is it searched after or not; if not, the ad will not show.
- 2: the ad-text itself: is it appealing for the user to click, when he/she sees the ad.
- 3: the match (relevance) between the PPC ad text and the website landing page; does the user get what he/she expects, or do they backout on
the first page-view.
- 4: the website-pitch; is the sales-pitch on the website landing page good or insufficient; can the website convert user-clicks
into leads and sales. A good website has a linear path towards the sales-page, motivating a user into a sale,
de-motivating de-tours or worse, click-aways to other websites.
For a brief on the E-marketing cycle, and to see where and how PPC fits in, see the picture below.
The red lines (from bottom to top) show where feedback from the PPC campaign parameters is used as input its tuning, which is done in iterations, step-wise.
PPC; the cost
PPC advertising generally will cost about $0.15 (USD) per click; so
for a budget of as low as for instance $5/day you can be certain of 33 VERY
targeted customers a day visiting your website.
The minimum advertising budget can be set
as small as $1/day, but it also can be set up to $1000/day or more.
Customer targeting can be wordwide
or country-specific; the target search-language can also be selected.
By the proper selection of adwords we target to achieve (even in bidding wars)
that you will never pay more than 50% of the industry average CPC (of the market segment you are in).
We target to accomplish this because Google rewards ad-RELEVANCE,
measured by maximum bid and CTR (click through rate);
your ads will show above the ones bidding more, provided your ad-CTR is higher.
We specialize in high-CTR (>2%) and low-CPC (<50% of industry-average) campaigns via iterative tuning;
see the "tracking and tuning" chapter for proof and references.
We have extensive expertise in PPC programs, especially
the ones from
Overture, now Yahoo Search Marketing
MSN Adcenter. The minimum CPC
(Cost Per Click) for Google campaigns is $0.05, the one for Overture campaigns is $0.10.
Whereas Google PPC ads are
shown as "sponsored links" on the Google screen
and on AOL, Ask Jeeves, and Compuserve screens,
Overture PPC ads will appear as sponsored links only on MSN and CNN (and not anymore
on Yahoo, Altavista, and Infospace, like before).
Though Overture started as early as in 1998 with PPC, Google Adwords PPC
essentially took over the major portion of the PPC market after its launch in 2002.
Until Q1 2006, up to about 250 PPC programs were set up and managed by
us; please check our
PPC campaings with maximum daily budgets ranging from $5/day up to $2000/day
were set up; with websites
acquiring 30 up to 6000 clicks/day.
PPC; break even point and ROI (Return On Investment)
The calculation on PPC ROI goes as follows (example):
Note that percentages used for CTR (=2%) and sales-conversion (=2%) are percentages which we strive after, and in 70%
of the cases are able to reach.
- Suppose there are 100000 queries/month for a specific word, worldwide; source:
Traffic Estimator tool from Google).
- If the word is an english word, it will most likely only be searched after by the english speaking
community on the web; which is 540 million people (2010 data; see internet languages) large.
If the word is an international word or name like "adidas"; the number of people able to look for it form a much
larger group: about 700 million (chinese, japanese, korean and russian are excluded).
In the example here we will work with an english word being searched after.
- So the search-word is english; now suppose the PPC target audience is the USA.
The USA population comprises about 340 million people (2010 stats) of which 270 million are online;
source: internet stats.
These 270 million are 50% of the 540 million english enquiring internet users worldwide (2010 stats);
so 50% of 100000 queries= 50000 queries/month or 1700/day.
- Suppose the cost of click on that specific word is $0.20 (sources:
Yahoo Search Marketing Bid Tool and
Traffic Estimator tool from Google).
- Now suppose that the CTR of the ad is 2%; so on 1000 impressions there are 20 clicks.
These 20 clicks then cost 20 * $0.20= $4.
- Next suppose that the conversion-rate (of clicks into sales) per click is 2%; so there are 2 sales on 100 clicks.
- Cost per sales then is $20 / 2= $10.
- If the margin per sale > $10 the PPC campaign is above break even.
- Concluding: as the USA target market generates about 1700 queries/day (see item 3 above);
the number of clicks/day will be close to 51 (at 3% conversion) at a total PPC cost of $10.20 (cpc=$0.20),
and the number of sales/day then will be close to 1 (at 2% conversion), with a cost/sale of $10.
Standard industry percentages however are much lower, CTR=0.5% and sales-conversion=0.5%.
Using the industry average percentages calculates the above break even point into:
5000 impressions give 25 clicks (CTR=0.5%), and 200 clicks give 1 sale (0.5% conversion).
So the cost/sale or break even point in the latter example = 200 * $0.20= $40.
As we target CTR's and conversions well above industry average (and on top of that also target a CPC
well below the industry average), we can make PPC campaigns very efficient.
Organic Ranking (SEO) vs. Sponsored ads (PPC); How to choose?
- Speed: organic ranking can take up to 12 months; sponsored ranking only takes 24 hours;
- Range: organic ranking is only possible for 10-15 keywords; sponsored ranking is possible for thousands of keywords;
- Stability: organic rankings can drop overnight with search algorithm changes; sponsored rankings are much more stable;
- Cost: organic rankings are free; sponsored rankings are paid per click, and can suffer from click fraud;
- Targeting: sponsored rankings can be shown per time of day or per geographic region; organic rankings cannot
- Media: sponsored ads can show rich media like banners and video ads, organic rankings basically only show text (though this is changing with google universal).
- Audience: organic rankings are shown to all people, sponsored ads can be targeted per website (adsense style) and audience demographics (gender, age, income group).
CPM (Cost Per Mil) campaigns
CPM (cost per mil) is the classic banner model, where the advertiser pays a publisher per each 1000 ad impressions.
Google offers CPM ads on content related sites (google calls this "content targeting") or specifically chosen websites
(called "site targeting").
Site targeting was introduced in 2005, and renamed to "placement targeting" in 2007.
Since 2008 a combination of PPC ads ("keyword targeting") and placement targeting is offered by google,.
allowing ads to be shown on specific websites, for specific keywords. When this option is used, payment can be per click or per 1000 impressions.
The KSF’s (Key Success Factors) of placement-targeted CPM ads are the same as for PPC targeted ads with one additional KSF;
the success/failure of the CPM ad is for a large (at least 80%) part determined by an additional, fifth KSF.
KSF #5 for site-targeted ads is User Group Relevance; if the website user group does not (very) closely match the
requested target group, the CPM’s will go to waste, and the clicks (if any) will be absent or non-relevant,
not generating leads or sales. CTR’s close to 0% will be the result; even at extreme high CPM bids (and daily cost).
So it is crucial to choose the website targets very carefully. It is basically a trial and error process; starting with a large enough
group of target websites, and next focussing more and more on the converting ones.
The process of website selection can also be sped up by using the combination of keyword+placement targeting; however, the number of ads
shown per website will be on the low side then.
Google also services Adsense ads;
we can assist in setting up this service also,
but it will cost you clicks, away from your website.
This kind of advertising is fit for non-commercial (info-only) high-volume websites
where one would like to make some additional revenue.
P.S.: It is an unsubstantiated rumour that Google favours websites in natural ranking once
these websites have installed adsense on them.
Our PPC Plans include:
On top of that there are 5 targets which come with our PPC Plans:
- Website landing page (quality score) optimization
- Competitor research
- SWOT (strength/weakness/opportunity/threat) research
- Keyword and google trends research
- SERP (search engine result page) research
- Landing page SEO settings optimization
- Landing page sales pitch optimization
- Click flow and menu optimization
- Google Pagerank Optimization
- Google Analytics and Google Sitemap install (when needed)
- Google Analytics Goal synchronization with Adwords
- Advice on Social Media Optimization(Twitter/Facebook/Linkedin/YouTube/Google Wave/Press Releases)
- PPC campaign optimization
- Campaign structure optimization
- Campaign settings optimization
- Adgroup structure optimization
- Ad text, ad title, and display URL optimization
- Ad position optimization
- CTR maximization
- CPC minimization
- Conversion maximization
- Cost/conversion minimization
- Split (A/B) testing of ads
- Keyword Quality Score optimization
- PPC Conversion script install (when needed)
- An extensive (30 page) PPC analysis report, with all details and planned optimization steps explained
- Ad position top5
- View to click conversion (CTR) >1%
- Cost per click (CPC) below 50% of industry average for the market segment involved
- Click to Lead conversion >10%
- Click to Sale conversion >2%